My article in the Telegraph about the London riots & why we need to be positive

Like you, I’ve been shocked, saddened and baffled by the London riots which have demolished whole areas of London, including parts of Brixton where I live. My thoughts about it have swung wildly from anger to intellectualising to worry about the future, but the recent clean ups and stories of communities pulling together have reignited my positivity so much so that I feel proud to be a Londoner again.

Here’s a link to  my article, and I hope you all stay safe and well:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/uk/london/8693172/London-riots-its-time-for-positive-action-over-public-apathy.html

3 responses to “My article in the Telegraph about the London riots & why we need to be positive

  1. Beautifully said Sasha – it was very scary over in Notting Hill as well but I think it is important to think about what we can do to change things rather than just expressing outrage and what happened.

  2. Great article, it’s nice to see people thinking about the way forward. I think your 3 recommendations (better communities, being nice to each other and moving away from greed culture) would make everyone feel better!
    Claire

  3. You’re amazing, Sasha – great article! And really well written. I’m leaving London to move back to Australia in a couple of months but look forward to tuning in to your blog from afar when I need my little hit of London life, over my morning flat white.

Leave a Reply

