A little update from the HPL

You may have noticed that I haven’t written very much lately. Or if not, that what I’ve written lately hasn’t been very good.

It’s not because I haven’t been doing much lately – I’ve been doing tons, too much in fact. I want to tell you about drinking wine at Taste London, going to the polo with some girlfriends (veh good), watching Bridesmaids (farking funny), schlepping in the mud at Latitude, eating giant crab at the Fish House near Chichester, moving to Brixton Hill with The Chef with a garden filled with palm trees and hammocks. But I just seem to have lost my mojo lately and I don’t want to write lots of posts that will bore your pants off just for the sake of it. This is what I’ve always said.

Truth is, I’m sort of, by mistake, happy. I’m sort of where I want to be, more relaxed, less frustrated, less of an urge to constantly try new things and question everything. Life is slowing down and I like it. I’m still a bit of a stresshead, and curious and looking over my garden fence to see if other’s gardens are greener (you’ve been where?! I want to go!!). I’m still keen to try new places (next on the list = Franks Cafe and Campari Bar in Peckham) but I’m feeling a bit more red wine with friends, local restos with candles, sort of thing than I was previously. And it will be nice to go out for a bit without annoying my friends by taking lots of photos.

I have a lot to thank this blog for. It’s got me into writing, I’ve met a ton of awesome people, I’ve been invited to go to brilliant events and restos, and it led me to The Chef. Its made me more positive, more open-minded, healthier. It got me into cycling to work, going to the theatre, eating out at every available opportunity. It made me realise who I am and what I really love.

So I’m taking a little break, a little HPL hiatus, and will write only when I’m inspired and feel I have something to tell you that will be interesting and inspire you too. I’ve got some great guest posts to keep you occupied in the meantime.

Its not farewell but see you very soon – and get thee to a beer garden forthwith, god knows how long this sunny spell’s going to last xxx

13 responses to “A little update from the HPL

  1. Aww. I hear ya sister! The Greedy Diva is also taking a very content to leave the camera at home hiatus right now. Any spare moment I have is dedicated to NOT being on the computer or Twitter – and how lovely it is. More time for snuggling up on the couch with a glass of vino can only be a good thing.

  2. If you need an evening’s lounging in Brixton of a warm summer evening, and fancy feeling a little like you’ve stumbled into a bar in Thailand, VERY surprisingly, the Grand Union (Acre Lane) has this little bit out back. I got lots of schtick for drinking strawberry and lime cider (I know), but still, thoroughly enjoyable if you need to potter away from Brixton Hill for a bit. Lovely lovely post – nothing better than taking a hiatus away from the obligation of writing. 🙂 xx

  3. This post made me very happy! I’m glad it’s all worked out for you. We absolutely HAVE to have cocktails a year on from when we met, to have a recap. 🙂 Please be back soon. xxx

  4. I’m so happy for you! xx

  5. happiness is the best reason for a blog hiatus! enjoy the warm fuzzy feeling xx

  6. Hi Sasha, I’ve been reading your blog since I moved to London six months ago, single and restless and keen to do everything. I now feel a lot like you’ve described above – the happiness hit me by surprise and accident. Thank you for all your inspirational ideas and I am happy that the happiness seems to be spreading.

  7. Glad you’re happy, but will miss the happy recommendations, too. See you back in the blogworld soon 🙂

  8. Wow! But I only just discovered you! Well, enjoy life, soak it up and I look forward to your next post!

  9. Hi Sasha, good for you – excellent decision to take some time out just to enjoy life – which you are clearly doing. Made a similar decision too recently. Decided to spend more time absorbing life than trying to steer and analyse it – a Goethe quote helped inspire me, “All theory, dear friend, is grey, but the precious tree of life is green”.

Leave a Reply

