London’s secret signs

Experiment.

  1. Start carrying a camera around with you all the time.
  2. Make yourself look up, around, at buildings, shops.
  3. Find cool stuff and smile – hurrah.
  4. Take photos.
  5. Remark to self that you have discovered a little bit of London’s hidden past, or similar. Appreciate.

Simples. Here’s some stuff I’ve found over the last couple of months, and I wasn’t even trying very hard:

Brixton market

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bottom of St Martins Lane – seriously, did you guys see this wee dude? Cycle past every day, only saw him yesterday

Round the corner from The Albion in Islington

Hollen Street, Soho (thanks to comments below who kindly corrected me!)

Dulwich Road, Herne Hill

Acre Lane, Covent Garden

Brixton loves Bovril

What did J&J Goddard make? I hope it was bowler hats. Or corsets.

 This is just round the corner from me. A bloke came out the barber shop to tell me it was from 1814

9 responses to “London’s secret signs

  1. These are lovely!

    On a Brixton-related note: how good are the breakfast pancakes at Brick Box?! Jeez… YUM. x

  2. You have the HAT Factory labelled as Somewhere near Tower Bridge…..WRONG….. Its in Soho http://englishbuildings.blogspot.com/2007/11/former-hat-factory-hollen-street-london.html

  3. I’ve been noticing these remnants from the past since looking at this. You’re right, they are everywhere. On the railway bridge at Camden overground station there’s a huge sign for Ferodo Brake Shoes which I guess has been there forever, and never been painted over.

  4. Hi Sasha, great post, really fascinating. Amazing what you see when you stop looking at the pavement!
    Here’s one I found in Dartmouth Park a few weeks ago: http://bit.ly/kSnXnu
    And on a similar theme, secret London Street Signs http://bit.ly/jZHQ5F
    Have a good day, Annie

  5. Wow, I used to live in the flat by the Albion that you pictured with the old chemist sign! How cool.
    There are loads of those random old signs around north London, I’m always glad when I see one as it reminds me of living in that flat.

  6. J&J Goddard made or retailed musical stuff – I have a piano pickup they made for acoustic pianos. Late 1800’s to early 1900’s.

Leave a Reply

