Another HPL competition – win 2 free cocktails at Ping Pong

In the run up to Chinese New Year starting on the 3rd February (for which you should check out all the events going on in Chinatown including a huge celebration on Sunday 6 February) , the HPL has teamed up with Ping Pong to offer you the chance to win a voucher to get two of their famous and exotic cocktails free!  And I’ll be noshing on their special new year dim sum menu soon which I’ll report back on.
I have 25 vouchers to give away (that’s 50 free cocktails) and all I need you to do is to leave a comment and tell me what your favourite cocktail is. I’ll pick 25 of you at random and you’ll get sent your voucher by email. For extra points, it’s the year of the rabbit so anyone who can manage a RABBIT JOKE is pretty much guaranteed a free elderflower sakitini (check out their awesome cocktail menu…).
Please leave your comments by Thursday 3 February and GOOD LUCK!

UPDATE 3.02.11 – OK everyone we have our 25 winners for the 2 x free cocktail vouchers so no more entries please! Hope everyone below enjoys their cocktails (I now have craving for a dirty martini with green olive) and have a read of the comments below if you want to hear some TRULY TERRIBLE rabbit jokes… Happy Chinese New Year!

28 responses to “Another HPL competition – win 2 free cocktails at Ping Pong

  1. If we’re talking favourite cocktails, I’m a big fan of the Old Fashioned as a way to let a bartender show his stuff – if (in honour of the year) he wants to stir it with a carrot that’s fine by me!

  2. I’m a big fan of the long island ice tea, a bit old school as cocktails go these days, but its seen me through many a hazy night! And while i’m at it… What do you call a man with a rabbit up his jumper ? Warren. – thank you very much, shows at 8 and 10 all week…

  3. OK so here are some (poor) rabbit/cocktail related puns. I can’t say that any would be my favourite but I hope they make you laugh…

    I’d start off with a glass of HUTCH Courage followed by a Harvey STRAWbanger with a large StrawBUNNY Daiquiri to finish off. In the morning I’d definitely need a HARE of the Dog.

    (P.S. I can’t pick a favourite cocktail but anything involving cream, Baileys, Amarula, Tia Maria and more cream gets my vote 🙂

  4. There is such a thing as a Jack Rabbit Cocktail – made with apple brandy, lemon juice, orange juice and maple syrup. But my favourite is the Gimlet, you can’t go wrong with gin and lime juice!

    (I totally cheated and looked up how to make a Jack Rabbit Cocktail here: http://www.ehow.com/how_6008323_make-jack-rabbit-cocktail.html#ixzz1CcEumBv6) Before anyone acuses me 🙂

  5. A cocktail that never ceases to whip my taste buds into a giddy, bubbly frenzy is the Balsamic Rossini; the perfect balance of flirty bubbles and gooey sweetness.
    And now to a little joke I concocted of my own to pay homage to one of my favourite Chinese treats – what do you get when you cross a pig and a rabbit?…
    A pork-bunny!
    (dont judge me).

  6. I’m in the grip of a concerted (and no doubt highly annoying) Mad Men phase, so I’m going to go with the Old Fashioned too. It’s helpful for answering that always-pertinent Q: What would Don Draper do? A: Find a bar (if not in one already) and order an Old Fashioned.

  7. Lychee Martinis are the ultimate bliss! Sweet, fragrant, intoxicating!

    Now for cheesy, sobering… Why did the bald man paint rabbits on his head? Because from a distance they looked like hares!

  8. A VERY difficult choice, but sugar and lime being a weakness of mine and the fact they remind me of the 6 months I lived in Venezuela it’s between a simple Cuba libre or a Caipirinha.

    On the Rabbit joke front I only know one off the top of my head
    What do you call a rabbit that works in a bakery? A Yeaster bunny!

    *I’ll get my coat*

  9. Favourite cocktail – drunk rabbit!

    Bad Rabbit joke – bunny’s favourite book ‘The Hop It”

  10. I love the Key West Cooler from TGI Fridays (Smirnoff vodka, Peach Schnapps, Malibu and Midori with orange & cranberry juices).

    Just cause you asked … no matter how lame it is … here goes …

    Did you hear about the rich rabbit? He was a millionhare!

  11. I have a weakness for any cocktails involving elderflower…
    And this isn’t quite a rabbit joke, but it does involve food:
    Waiter, what is this hare doing in my salad? I believe he’s eating your lettuce.

  12. When I ran out of tonic the other day, Twitter recommended Gin and Milk, which, as it isn’t a real cocktail, I’ve decided to Christen the Rampant Rabbit.

    Otherwise, I do like an Orgasm, although ordering one makes me feel about 13.

    ORIGINAL RABBIT PUN: Why were the police refused entry when they tried to search Mr Rabbit’s house? They didn’t have a warrant. WARRENt! Geddit? Hahahaetc.

  13. lychee martini – amaze.

  14. There’s a cocktail at a place called Lounge Lover (is this blasphemous to talk about other places’ cocktails…?!) called the 8 of Hearts, made with fresh raspberry and peach, Vodka, FRESH CHILLI – WHOO and Amaretto, shaken up and served with a sugar rim. That chilli kick is unreal.

    Here’s a rabbit joke for you – the funnyness quota is possibly questionable…:

    A rabbit came into a shop and asked, “Got any carrots?” The seller answered, “No!”

    The next day the rabbit came again and asked, “Got any carrots?” The seller replied “No!”

    Next day the rabbit came and asked, “Got any carrots?” The seller shouted, “No! And if you come again and ask for carrots, I’ll take nails and hammer you on the wall by your ears!”

    Early next morning the rabbit came back and asked, ” Got any nails?” The seller answered, “No!” The rabbit asked, “Got any carrots?”

  15. I don’t have any rabbit jokes… I can say that my Prime Minister did ask us all to have more children this year, so I guess he really does want us to be like Rabbits in every way!

    My favourite cocktail’s a mojito. Sweet and simple.

  16. oh! forgot to leave a joke!

    Why did the bunny get so mad? She was having a bad hare day!

    I’m sorry. I stood more chance without the joke, right?

  17. Lindsey Masters

    Long island iced tea. Probably because it has about 5 different types of alcohol in it – I like to get my money’s worth! 🙂

  18. I have a soft spot for a Lavender Martini – there’s a very real risk of me drifting off into a sweet, lavender-scented sleep afterwards, mind.

  19. My favourite is a Tom Collins – nice and simple.

  20. This is a hare-brained scheme. I’m sick of you rabbiting on about Ping Pong. I can’t post this comment. Their must be some Bugs in the system.

    Whiskey Sour please. Just one of those and I become all bright eyed and bushy tailed. Burning like fire, as it slips down.

  21. My favorite cocktail could be el toreador or blood and sand. What did bugs bunny give to his girlfried???.. A 14 carrots ring!!! Hahahaha

  22. Cocktails = alcoholic desserts (the perfect combo if you ask me). If anyone has ever seen me try to choose a dessert, they will know I don’t have a favourite because it depends on how my tastebuds are reacting at the time. Do I crave like a creamy chocolately calorific creation or am I more in need of a tangy zesty fruity (alcoholic) burst? I think this may mean that my favourite is simply ‘cocktails, mmmmmmm’

    And a sad attempt at a rabbit joke:
    Why did the rabbit crosst the road?
    Because it was nailed to the chicken

  23. So hard to choose but i think i’d have to go for a classic Cosmopolitan.

    (sorry i have no rabbit jokes!)

  24. Sex on the beach. Not for the drink. Just to watch folks’ faces when you tell them what you’d like

  25. Love a Bloody Mary with horseradish and a stick of celery. Or a dry martini with a green olive.

    This is my favourite rabbit joke http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/450311068_65258b2a77.jpg

  26. The Old Fashioned. It’s a classic and nothing to do with my love of Mad Men

  27. I’ll have a falling water, please! (Feijoa vodka, ch’i, lemon, cucumber)

    So, a lady opened her refrigerator and saw a rabbit sitting on one of the shelves.
    “What are you doing in there?” she asked.
    The rabbit replied, “This is a Westinghouse, isn’t it?”
    The lady confirmed, “Yes.” “Well,” the rabbit said, “I’m westing.”

    I’ll get my coat.

  28. My favourite cocktail has to be the Bellini, light, fresh, fun and fizzy. Rabbit joke:
    A bear and a rabbit are doing what they do in the woods
    Bear to rabbit: Do you find that the shit sticks to your fur?
    Rabbit: No
    So the bear picks up the rabbit and wipes his bottom with it.
    I know it’s wrong but it made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

