It’s good to talk*

 This weekend, I spent 4 wonderful days with one of my best friends, Lady B. We weren’t drinking much (me detoxing, she preggers) so it was fairly healthy, but it involved lovely food, tea and cheese, delicious Austrian wine, and talking. And talking and talking and talking. And then a bit more chat.

And, afterwards, I truly felt that my soul was healed, my spirit purged of moans and negativity. I talked about how blue the sky was. I wasn’t fazed at all by getting lost, pretty much constantly, in Vienna one-way systems. I felt lighter, happier, better.

It made me think that, although we talk a lot in London – banter at work, going out with friends, chatting to a partner when we get home – we often don’t put aside enough time to really talk. To chew the cud. It doesn’t matter if it’s about nothing – in fact, nothing is probably good, as it can lead to something, to thoughts lost to current worries or stresses, to worries you didn’t know you had, to dreams, ambitions, fantasies and daydreams. It can inspire and motivate you. Talking about all manner of bollocks, in a relaxed and chilled way, over tea or wine is one of life’s greatest pleasures, a stress reliever, and the cheapest form of therapy there is.

The ideal timing is 1 hour’s uninterrupted conversation a week, and you may all think you do this already, nae bother. But do you really? Chatting when the telly is on doesn’t count as you’re always distracted. A short phone call on the way to and from the tube isn’t enough. And catching up with friends over after-work drinks normally involves a great deal of catching up, or dealing with current dilemnas, or gossiping. It often feels rushed, scratching the surface, and doesn’t allow for relaxed, blissful, unimpeaded chat.

So here’s some ideas:

  • If you live with someone, tonight turn the telly off, put some music on, eat your dinner at the table, and really talk. No need for a reason or a topic, just start talking and see where it takes you.
  • If you live alone, call or skype someone and set a stop watch for 1 hour (if they need to go, just call someone else). Grab a comfy seat, a cup of herbal tea or wine, and connect.
  • Plan a long walk or a coffee at the weekend with an old friend – allow yourselves some time to catch up but then allow your inner drivel to flow.
  • On a long car journey, switch the radio off, stop eye spy or mallet’s mallet (am I the only one?!) and initiate a discussion about something random – history lessons at school, allergies, your thoughts on being an only / youngest / oldest child. Again, see where it ends up.
  • Book in a weekday working lunch with a good colleague or friend, leave the office and blackberry behind, find out something you never knew about them – their family, holiday plans, love life. Channel your inner hairdresser and find out the most interesting thing about them that you can.

Two things that I’ve realised from this weekend is that although conversations after a bottle or two of wine are often hilarious and deep, I think the best conversations, the most revealing ones, are those you have in your PJs over breakfast and a cup of tea. So I’d go easy on the vino. And secondly, for the best stress-relief and therapy, you should avoid bitching, back-stabbing and criticising. It is of course entirely natural that you need to discuss your Facebook friend’s unmistakeable evidence of botox, but make sure you go back to smiley, happy thoughts soon thereafter.

* this is not a sponsored post

7 responses to “It’s good to talk*

  1. This is a great post. I try to meet my best friend in NYC about every 6 months and we have lunch and then just walk around and talk. It is exactly what you are talking about! 🙂

  2. What a perfect weekend 🙂

    And I always like any advice which tells me that I’m allowed to spend time talking. It’s so true that we’re always rushing around, squeezing in a conversation between bus stop and tube. The other day I had one whole hour’s uninterrupted natter with my mum – we covered a range of topics only two extremely talkative women are able to cover in such a (relatively) short space of time, she read me an inspiring newspaper article, we popped and fizzed about different ideas. There was actually surprisingly little whingeing and moaning (in spite of things being very hard with her own mum at the moment). It was SO great, and I left the phonecall feeling a warm glow with the world, and a stronger mummy hen-chicklet bond than ever, which makes me incredibly happy.

    Plus, you’ve inspired me to book in some proper 1 on 1 time with my bestest bud Lucie. Thanks Miss HPL xx

  3. Great post! I think this is really important, and I certainly notice that during times I spend lots of time in front of a computer and not have time to properly talk to my friends, I feel a lot more miserable. Disconnecting and talking, if only for 10 minutes in the morning, is great.

  4. Talking is defintely the best therapy. I often think it is a shame for most men who are less reluctant than us ladies to have a good old natter. That said though I shall be turning off the box tonight for some conversation with my man.

Leave a Reply

