My search for the best coffee shop in central London #6 – Kaffeine, 66 Great Titchfield Street, Fitzrovia, W1W 7QJ

So I continue my search for the best coffee shop in central London using my Criteria and hit-list. And I finally made it to Kaffeine, the oft-praised antipodean coffee shop raved about by various twitterites including Tim Hayward. So me and the gorgeous Penelope, identical twin to Argentine Aileen, went there for lunch a couple of weeks ago and I thanked my lucky stars yet again for having lovely friends working close by for weekday gossip-filled lunches, the highlight of my working week.

Anyway, the food looked great so I bought a slice of quiche with salad, which was extremely yummers although at £6 on the pricey side. It was a chilled out relaxed place BUT the tables at the back were at the wrong height – you either have to bend down to reach your food/coffee or sit with it on your knee, not very practical. God that was dull, sorry.

Anyway, on to the coffee. I ordered a flat white which was £2.20 ish. They have a super duper “Synesso Cyncra espresso machine” which they are very proud of – when I was taking photos of the coffee shop they asked me if I wanted to photograph the coffee machine. I said no but only because Penelope had run outside in embarrassment and I did look like a complete dick yet again taking photos and it’s hard to pull off “excited tourist” in a suit. Anyway the coffee is Square Mile and apparently the beans are from El Salvador and Costa Rica. It was nice and creamy, tick. Good use of coffee art, tick. Tasty tangy taste, tick. And with a nice little kick, tick. BUT it was only lukewarm and since I’ve been getting into my coffee, this is my new pet hate. Coffee should arrive HOT so then you can sit around, holding it in your hands and looking pensive / sexy, and then sipping slowly, taking your time and thinking or reading or gossiping. If it arrives lukewarm you need to pretty much down it before it gets even colder which ruins the whole seduction. It may be that the fancy pants coffee machine means the coffee cools too much (and I know there is a bit of a wait for coffee), or because it was a Friday lunchtime and busy so may have sat on the counter, but anyway it needed to be hotter for my liking. And the low table at the back thing (dull).

So, for that reason, my favourite central London coffee shops remain Store Street Espresso and Wild & Wood. But Flat White is yet to come. Oh yes.

Kaffeine on Urbanspoon

8 responses to “My search for the best coffee shop in central London #6 – Kaffeine, 66 Great Titchfield Street, Fitzrovia, W1W 7QJ

  1. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London – criteria and #1 London Review Cake Shop | The Happiness Project London

  2. Nice post, I love the lunch entry, wish I could be there to eat it. Agree on the point about coffee hotness – well said.

  3. Can’t believe that you are aggrieved to pay six quid for a massive plate of food but not over two quid for hot water, 4oz of coffee powder and some milk. This is why Starbucks rules the world and one in three restaurants go bust. CHEF RANT over.
    Awesome post! xx

  4. I luv Kaffeine.

  5. No, no they’re right. Coffee should NOT be blistering HOT. You’re supposed to be able to drink it as soon as it is given to you.
    Why coffee is usually so hot it because of the big quantities of it so that it keeps warm for longer. It’s basically a modern thing but it isn’t for the best of coffee.
    =)
    Good luck in your search for the best coffee !

  6. if you heat milk too much (beyond about 70 degrees) the taste changes. It stops being sweet and starts tasting like porridge. In ‘speciality’ coffee shops the goal is always to keep the milk from getting too hot and preserving as much deliciousness as possible. This also means that you sort of have to drink it straight away otherwise it’s tepid and meh.
    If you don’t want to drink a coffee right now, don’t order one right now I suppose. Oh, and if you want something hotter you could always go for brewed coffee.

  7. Pingback: В поиске хорошего кофе. Kaffein | Блог Семена Довжика

Leave a Reply

