My search for the best coffee shop in central London #5 – Store Street Espresso, 40 Store Street, WC1E 7DB

So here’s my criteria and hit-list for finding the best coffee shop in Central London.  And yes I hear you – “Flat White! Flat White!” – I will get there eventually but I’m taking my time, mkay? I don’t want another over-egged Byron experience. To recap, I’m looking for a chilled, cosy, friendly place with tasty coffee with depth and a kick. The kind of place you can go to gossip or to sit alone on your laptop or reading your book. Simples.

Store Street Espresso opened recently so it’s brand spanking new and right by the back entrance to the British Museum so is favoured by good friend and guest blogger Pippalippa as venue for drinking coffee and doing Chinese homework. We went along for lunch and I was really impressed.

It is lovely inside – minimalist and arty but also warm and cosy which is quite a feat, and with enough corners and angles to be private. Great mix between people on their own and groups – I expect you could grab a paper and while away several hours in there. Super friendly staff who were happy to let me snap away. And good music – Nu-folk which is cool (unlike Old-folk which apparently is not). I’m a fan of music in coffee shops, makes for a better atmosphere in my humble opinion – I thought the London Review of Books cafe was just too quiet. I did ask them where the coffee beans were from, they answered and I nodded and then I completely forgot what they said. But the coffee was really good – I ordered a flat white at around £2.20 I think and it was strong and deep and creamy but with a nice little kick which helped my tired and jet-lagged ass get through the afternoon at work. And it came with a heart on top – a heart! I used to think coffee art was gimmicky but I like it now. Nice doorstop bread sarnie with cheese and pickle too. Definitely recommended for grabbing a coffee and a bite to eat if you’re in Bloomsbury. Oh and I finally worked out why my previous photos were so blurry (I’d switched the focus to manual by mistake) – so these photos are back to normal.

5 responses to “My search for the best coffee shop in central London #5 – Store Street Espresso, 40 Store Street, WC1E 7DB

  1. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London – criteria and #1 London Review Cake Shop | The Happiness Project London

  2. Found your blog when I was searching for reviews of Store Street Espresso, and I love it!! Great review of the place and wonderful blog, I will be diligently stalking it from now on 🙂

  3. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London #6 – Kaffeine, 66 Great Titchfield Street, Fitzrovia, W1W 7QJ | The Happiness Project London

  4. Thanks for these fantastic reviews. Your site has been of great support for my search for the perfect cosy cafe in London!

Leave a Reply

