My search for the best burger in London #5 – Byron burger

Byron was my holy grail. Every time I mentioned that I was looking for the best burger in London, friends mentioned Byron; facebook and blog and twitter comments mentioned Byron; and I talked about how I was long overdue a visit.

So The Chef and I (yup he’s new, keep up – I shall say no more for now) headed to Soho on Tuesday night for burgers, wine and comedy – or my perfect-sounding evening. We went to the Byron on Wardour Street, and I loved it inside. Relaxed, converted-warehouse-stainless-steel style, table service and booze, which reminded me of posh pizza at Pizza East. The Byron burger sounded awesome (comes with bacon and special relishy sauce) but sadly my criteria says I need to order the plain cheeseburger. I had it with fries and my favourite coleslaw and obligatory courgette fries, which everyone also bangs on about.

And it was lovely. Tasty soft bun, nice pinky burger. Hmmm. So what’s the problem? Well, I think I’d over-hyped it up. I was imagining the perfect drool-fest burger and I just don’t think its the PERFECT burger. For gluttony reasons, I’d want more cheese, stronger cheese, lots and lots of cheese. And although the burger was lovely, I’d have liked it meatier, bigger basically. And more taste of meat and charcoal.  And the bun maybe toasted ever so slightly. And tons more relish and sauce, preferably dripping down my chin. I loved the coleslaw and fries, and the courgette fries were OK but not needed with my burger, sorry. Am I being devil’s advocate against the tide of glowing reviews? Maybe. On reflection, I read a children’s book years ago about a burger joint in the US finding the perfect burger sauce and I am still hunting for that perfect one. Byron was awesome but not quite there yet.

But I think I went in like Ellie Goulding (starry eyed) and need to go back – again and again and again really – to appreciate it fully without all the hype. No matter what, I think its a lovely little venue and cheap (a burger each, sharing chips and courgette fries and coleslaw and a bottle of wine was £20 each). Next up is posh burgers – I’ve been invited to try the burger at Davy’s in Regents Place (grass fed beef matured for 21 days, the perks of blogging) and I want to try Hawksmoor, Goodman and the American Bar at the Stafford Hotel. And also some pub burgers, including the Prince of Wales in Putney. But I’m on a post-Argetina DIET, so first – SALAD.

UPDATE: I was getting annoyed at my spanking new camera as the focus was out and I was contemplating actually reading the guide. However I discovered at lunchtime that I had mistakenly switched the focus to manual, hence the wonky blurriness. Have rectified error and photos should get better from now on. Doh.

Byron on Urbanspoon

15 responses to “My search for the best burger in London #5 – Byron burger

  1. yes I felt similar when I went for the first time. It was good, but I also expected too much after all the hype. Restaurants and high expectations just don’t go well together…

  2. This Chef fellow sounds amazing.

  3. Add Bob Bob Ricard’s burger to your list…

  4. Have you tried guerilla burger in James street?! Delicious

  5. Hello there,

    I heard the burger at Bar Boulud London at the Mandarin Oriental is supposed to be extraordinarily good. I keep meaning to try it, but haven’t quite managed to fit it in just yet!

    On another note, I got back from Argentina yesterday and am looking forward to catching up on your blog. 🙂

    LMR

  6. Pingback: My Search for the best burger in London – The Criteria | The Happiness Project London

  7. Hi Sasha,

    As chance would have it I popped in to the very same branch for a late lunch yesterday. The place was packed. Service was excellent but found the basic burger, well er, a bit too basic. Chips were good though but my own personal quest to find London’s perfect burger continues!

    Alex

  8. Loving your reviews making my mouth water at work! Just wanted to say I remember reading that kids book as well and can’t recall the name or author. It was amazing. I wanted to be that kid!

  9. oh dear you come on here talking about food like your a expert and you eat a byron burger and not impressed because you want more cheese ,,more cheese for what reason would you want to over power the amazing flavour and freshness of a byron burger ,,toppings running down your chin !!! you need to eat slimy big macs and leave byrons to a real burger lover ,,.
    Maybe read the menu as your comment on more meat just double up on the burger for very little expense and they do have different cheese too so what the hell you going on about mate ,,

  10. The Meat Market is the best ever

Leave a Reply

