My search for the best coffee shop in central London #3 – Wild & Wood, New Oxford Street, WC1 A1BA

 Continuing my search for the best coffee shop in central London, I stumbled across Wild & Wood on New Oxford Street and I think it may have jumped to the top of my list already.

The coffee is Monmouth coffee, changing every week and this week it was Guatemalan (which I’ve discovered I like mucho). Inside, its all cakes, wooden panelling, church pews and “please share tables” which makes for a friendly, relaxed atmosphere, and the pictures and movies are all 50s style. A few minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road and its a little bit of Central London peace and quiet.

I was solo on this trip and took my coffee to go, but the next time I’d love to stay and hang out longer – its the sort of place I’m sure you could while away the time with a book and some coffee. I also felt ridiculous taking photos on my own in this little coffee shop which reminded me that blogging is much more fun with friends – plus I can pretend that I’m taking photos of them or just reeeeally enthusiastic about the coffeee. I got a flat white at £1.90 and it was lovely – nicely creamy, only a little bitter with a nice kick which kept me going all afternoon. Also made me think why on earth people go to Starbucks et al when you can find a nice little coffee shop like this.

5 responses to “My search for the best coffee shop in central London #3 – Wild & Wood, New Oxford Street, WC1 A1BA

  1. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London – criteria and #1 London Review Cake Shop | The Happiness Project London

  2. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London #4 – Lantana Cafe, 13 Charlotte Place, Fitzrovia, W1T 1SN | The Happiness Project London

  3. As you can tell, I’m making my way through your blog. My favourite coffee shop in the whole of London is most definitely Wild & Wood. I’m usually found in there every weekend!

    Out of the list of 13 in your this post, I’ve tried all but 1. and 2. (the London Review Cake Shop and Reynolds). I’ll aim to give them a go before the end fo the year, but I love Wild & Wood so much and there’s a limit to how much coffee I want to imbibe, strangely enough!

    If you’re willing to venture further afield, Federation Coffee in Brixton Market is pretty good.

  4. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London #6 – Kaffeine, 66 Great Titchfield Street, Fitzrovia, W1W 7QJ | The Happiness Project London

  5. You should try The Association EC3 5AY the London coffee Projects First store. Best coffee I’ve had in the UK.
    Great specialty coffees, lovely tea’s from postcard teas that are specially brewed for you, great food and clever unique design . . . These guys are amazing !!!

Leave a Reply

