My search for the best coffee shop in central London #2 – Reynolds, 34 Eastcastle Street, W1W 8DW

Last week I decided to start learning more about coffee and to find the best coffee shop in central London. Reynolds on Eastcastle Street is a big hit on Qype and one of the Duracell free coffee shops so I went along. 

 [Note the Duracell offer did not work when I texted (apparently its a glitch in the system) so I’ve stopped advertising it on this blog. But the guys at Hill & Knowlton organising it, who are veh nice, are on the case and I’ll let you know when its up and running again (and thanks to H&W for sending me a free Duracell charger thingie as compensation).]

I loved Reynolds, loved it. Its the HPL’s perfect cafe – great ingredients, local, good value, friendly, quirky. Sadly only two tables outside but luckily Penelope managed to nab one so we could have a relaxed natter over lunch. The idea is you buy small things (around £1-3 each) – half a wrap, some salad, maybe soup – and add it all up to an interesting lunch. I ended up having a roast salmon and advocado wrap with a bean and feta salad and it was delicious and cheap too.

 

Anyway I came for the coffee so we had this afterwards. This time I remembered to ask where the beans were from, and they are the ones above – a Guatemalan hand-roasted mix (on sale there for £3.85) and very nice too. I ordered a two-expresso shot flat white (antipodean-influenced coffee craze) and Penelope had a cappucino – £2 each for a huge coffee so great value.  

It was a lovely coffee – really smooth and just a tiny tang of bitterness and gave me enough of a kick that I felt really en fuego all afternoon. I’m beginning to find a good coffee a real treat – it even affects my mood. Bit of a revelation!

3 responses to “My search for the best coffee shop in central London #2 – Reynolds, 34 Eastcastle Street, W1W 8DW

  1. Hello, I am pleased you liked our place and our coffee. We opened a new store on Charlotte street which is mch bigger and has plenty of seating. Same coffee, same food, same people just bigger and jst as individual. Swing by and try it some time.

    Thanks for the review – Mr Reynolds

  2. Pingback: My search for the best coffee shop in central London – criteria and #1 London Review Cake Shop | The Happiness Project London

Leave a Reply

