My search for the best burger in London #3 – The Lido Cafe, Brockwell Park

Brockwell Park Lido

Bikinis in Brixton? Life guards and sunbathers?  Today was the first time I’d eaten at the Costa del Brixtonia poolside cafe at the art deco Brockwell Lido, built in the 1930s. It was a fantastic atmosphere, super busy, and I cant wait to go down there to swim tomorrow.  For today, I needed to shake off cobwebs from the night before (thanks to a wonderful dinner at Fernandez & Leluu  – more soon) so settled on a burger and chips at the Brockwell Lido Cafe washed down with an organic lemonade.

The Lido Cafe – poolside, BBQ, organic stuff – perfect

I went with Escobar, who didn’t particularly relish his first experience of my taking a million photos before eating for the blog, but who proved to be a perfect people-watching partner.  Couldn’t believe all the yummy mummys! The burger was fantastic – patty a little small but really juicy and perfectly cooked, the cheese and bun were really nice. The hand-cut chips were delicious and the drinks menu interesting and organic. Highly recommended.

Nom nom slurp – chin dribblingly good

I seriously cannot imagine a better summer’s day than swimming in the lido and having a yummy BBQ lunch and glass of wine – I felt I was in Sydney rather than London.  I’ve seen they hold regular comedy and music nights – another one for my wishlist. Having been Hackney way on Friday, I’d also recommend the London Fields Lido and the Pub on the Park for after-beers (see below).

3 responses to “My search for the best burger in London #3 – The Lido Cafe, Brockwell Park

  1. Ooooh, you tempted me enough to ask TFL if it would take 3 days to get there from Angel, and it’s remarkably quick! I’m drooling at the thought of a decent burger – the chips look tasty too.

    I was pleasantly surprised by Byron burgers recently. I guess I sometimes unfairly judge chains too early and suspect they are not going to be as good as independents, but it was lovely. If you haven’t been yet, give it a go and try the courgette fries (as well as the traditional ones, obviously…)

    Emma @ Old Hat Club

  2. I went to Brockwell Lido when I was 18 years old and I thought I was so cool because my boyfriend at the time was 10 years older than I – I tried to act ‘old’ – how I wish I can be 18 again, laying on Brockwell Lido! Now I am 33, laying around London Fields – but thats great too x

Leave a Reply

