Bob Bob Ricard, 1 Upper James St, W1F 9DE

In the last few weeks I have realised that I am definitely not a food writer.  I don’t know about flavours or cooking well enough to write knowledgeably about it, I often don’t know what authentic dishes should taste like, and I’m not particularly judgemental.  But I love food and eating out, so I’m just going to write about what a girl-next-door thinks and whether it made me happy and leave it like that. Just don’t want to pretend I’m anything I’m not…!

Great lights, brass and that famous “Press for Champagne” button

Sooooo to BBR – El G and I headed to Soho on Saturday night for a long overdue lets get dressed up dinner out. Out of my wishlist, El G liked the look of Bob Bob Ricard as being funky and different.  Inside its gorgeous – you sit in comfy private booths surrounded by brass rails and little curtains  – very Orient Express with great lighting and modern touches too. For a Saturday it was super quiet but that may have been due to the footie.

I’d love to come back and try some vodka and Zakuski (things like salmon roe on quail’s egg and Russian herring) which reminds me of an amazing Latvian meal I had round at my friend G’s flat in Paris where we drank enough home-made vodka to make our hair curl, but woke up hangover-less and happy – these Eastern types know a thing or two about having a good time.  But instead we plumped for starters and mains.  First things first, you must start with cocktails – an amazing Rhubarb G&T and EL G had a refreshing BBR Botanical.

For starters, El G had cured orkney beef and celeriac salad with blueberries and hazelnuts and I had the potted shrimp with baby watercress  – like everything we ate that night I loved the interesting flavour combinations which were perfectly balanced – both were really tasty. 

Veal holstein with anchovies, quail’s egg, truffle mash and cute little courgette balls – bloody good

Home-made chicken kiev with sweetcorn mash

I heard the chateaubriand was amazing but at £32 it was a bit out of our price range, so I ordered the veal holstein with anchovies, a quail’s egg, truffle mash and secret sauce which was beautiful – amazingly well cooked, really light and incredible textures and flavours.  El G had the chicken kiev (well surely it would be authentic here?) with sweetcorn mash which again was perfectly cooked and tasty.  We washed this all down with a lovely bottle of chablis (£35). We were impressed at the lack of giant mark ups in the wine – not that we could afford the more expensive bottles, but the wine list shows how much other restos charged for the same bottle (often double).

We finished off by sharing a plate of cheese with the most creamy brie I’ve ever had and a glass or merlot and port, followed by home-made chocolate truffles and coffee. We felt incredibly spoiled and left really happy after 3 hours of totally unrushed but great service which for me is the sign of a great meal.  The bill came to £170 or £85 each so it ain’t cheap but it was a wonderfully different, luxurious treat and I’m definitely coming back!

Bob Bob Ricard on Urbanspoon

One response to “Bob Bob Ricard, 1 Upper James St, W1F 9DE

  1. Pingback: Bob Bob Ricard – Piccadilly Circus « katemeout

Leave a Reply

