Do something different!

“To the degree we’re not living our dreams, our comfort zone has more control of us than we have over ourselves. “   Peter McWilliams

“A man grows most tired while standing still.”  Chinese Proverb

“One can choose to go back toward safety or forward toward growth. Growth must be chosen again and again; fear must be overcome again and again.”  Abraham Maslow

My normal routine is being shaken up in London.  What with moving house and jobs, my day-to-day routine is out the window.  Its scary but also strangely liberating

This feeling of liberation got me thinking that in London, like any metropolis, we tend to live in a limbo of routine – not just home, work, home; but also the things we buy, eat; where we go; how we get there; who we hang out with.  Its comforting to have routine, but its also important that you go out of your comfort zone sometimes to appreciate the world and your relationships.  You can’t progress unless you have some level of discomfort; you need to face the fear, try new things.

Unless you have a big life change like a new job or home, or, sadly, a death of someone close to you or a break-up, its hard to see what really matters and appreciate what you have.  So, like most things in the HPL, its best to start with the small things.  Hopefully these tiny changes to your normal routine will wake you up a bit and make you mindful of what’s important to you:

  • Yesterday instead of buying my normal body lotion, I bought a different type that smelled of coconuts.  Not the best story ever but its an example and it made me happy.  So, this week instead of buying your normal shaving gel/body lotion/shampoo, pick a completely different brand and smell and see how it makes you feel.
  • At some point this week, text 3 people you haven’t spoken to in a while and ask them how they are and if they want to meet up soon.  Suggest some dates. 
  • If you have a morning and/or afternoon coffee or chocolate, don’t have one tomorrow.  But have it again on Friday.  Do you appreciate it more?
  • If you always wear skirts, wear trousers.  If you always wear trousers, wear a skirt.  If you always wear trainers, wear shoes.  If you wear your hair in a middle parting, part it to the side. 
  • If you normally stand to the right of the esclator, walk up the left and vice versa.

You get the idea – obviously do whatever feels right for you.  Once you’ve tried a couple of these and have felt a small tingle of excitement, then maybe move onto the next stage.  Try a new restaurant or bar.  Book onto an evening course.  Start a dance or yoga class.  Book a weekend to Iceland or similar.

Let me know how you get on!

PS.  I’ve got that song “Break Out” by Swing Out Sister in my head.  Please play that song as a musical accompaniment to this post if you can 🙂

5 responses to “Do something different!

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Good ideas. Another way of doing something different could be to make time (only a couple of minutes) to strike up a conversation rather than rushing off to the next thing, which is what everyone does in London. I’ve just had a nice (brief) chat with the drycleaning man about the weather and talked to the coffee shop man about his new cafe. Making the effort to talk to new people makes me happy.

  2. Another idea (maybe in your more radical box) is try moving somewhere new….Vienna is a fantastic city if anyone is looking for inspiration…

  3. couldn’t agree more with this, even if its simple. I am an utter ex control freak, I used to want to be able to control everything and plan everything, now more and more I am doing things spontanously or things that I would not even thought of do especially by myself, I still plan because its who I am and I don’t intend to change that, but I let everything go the way things want to. May as well enjoy the ride while your on it;)

  4. and to add to cities to wildly explore which you may have not been is Krakow in Poland, its an exciting beautiful exhilerent place to be and I’ve never felt so amazed to be anywhere in my life. 😀

Leave a Reply

