London garden – Spring has sprung

A wee update from the garden.  This is what I love about gardening – the hard work you put in takes a while to take effect, but when it does you feel excited and proud, which is why it forms one of my happiness rules.

As you may remember, I did some tidying work after winter – clipping off dead bits to make the plants healthier.  At the moment, life appears to be coming back (phew – thought I’d killed off the climbing clematis from over-pruning) and the garden looks very pretty, all new shoots, new life, emerging flowers.  Here’s the results from the work I did last month:

1. The hydrangea

Before

Clipping off dead bits

Now

2.  Climbing clematis

Before – ressembles my hair in the morning

After tidying – follwed by panic that I’d managed to kill it

Now – not dead thank god

3.  Other signs of life

2 responses to “London garden – Spring has sprung

  1. Even those of us frustrated Londoners without any outside space can see what we can grow on our windowsills. I’m seeing what produce I can grow on my three sunny windowsills in my first floor flat this year. So far chillies, tomatoes and herbs have come up trumps and it looks like I might have the very beginnings of a couple of sweet peppers on the way!

    • Hi Amy I LOVE your blog – just had a look! cant believe you cook that amazing food just from what you’ve planted on your windowsill…

      You’re putting me to shame – I’m going to tidy up my drooping rosemary and chives and do some more planting… You’ve inspired me so thanks!

      I’m also planning a bird table, latest addition to the garden… 🙂

      Sasha

Leave a Reply

