My search for the best burger in London – #burgerfail no. 2

McDonalds

Right, as you know, I’m looking for the best burger in London following certain criteria.  I’m not a food snob so I’m including fast food in my search.  My first #burgerfail was a very disappointing Burger King and I then had a good but ridiculously huge Grand Union burger.

So, next on my list was a quarter pounder with cheese meal (with extra barbecue sauce) at the Golden Arches, for the sake of the experiment of course.  And man I looooove McDonalds in a slightly guilty way  – perhaps I’m nostalgic from a misspent youth hanging out there every weekend.  I think they put something in the burger sauce to make it seriously addictive because it tasted delicious, if a little dry and lacking in meaty flavour (the 4 pints of cider I had beforehand may have aided the tasting slightly however, hic).  If you check out the photo – the burger looks pretty good doesn’t it – thick and meaty, nice Kraft cheese, yummy onion and guerkin, and decent bun.

I don’t have a problem with the taste at the time – it was gooood – my problem is what happens afterwards.  Ugh.  If you are what you eat, then the next day I was a big greasy unhealthy mess.  My insides felt dirty.  I honestly felt terrible (again the cider possibly has some part to play in this too).  It may be as a result of watching the Supersize Me film, but I feel great when eating a McDonalds but then dreadful afterwards.  Not worth it really and thats my second #burgerfail.

5 responses to “My search for the best burger in London – #burgerfail no. 2

  1. I also have a confession to make – I love MacDonald’s too but haven’t eaten one for years. I consumed copious amounts as a teenager.

    Today I went to Hawksmoor and I have to say – DO BELIEVE THE HYPE – it blew my mind! I will post about it soon… watch this space.

  2. One word! Hawksmoor! Best Burger in London without a doubt! After that Byrons – but hit and miss on who cooks it and location.

  3. Pingback: My Search for the Perfect Burger in London – The Criteria | The Happiness Project London

Leave a Reply

